如何才能真正实现“超越”?

我们是一群渴望超越现状的投资者、运营者和公司建设者。我们致力于在全球范围内扩张人力资本的边界,突破人类潜能的极限。

我们的投资参数远远超出了传统的收入和增长率、EBITDA和利润、市场份额和商业统计模型,超出了简单的产品/市场契合或者任何二乘二的矩阵。

对于我们的投资框架而言,更重要的是与我们共事的是什么人,他们梦想达成什么样的目标。我们希望,我们的团队和公司投资组合中皆是志同道合之士——我们应具有相合的价值观、背负同样的使命感、乐于建立合作伙伴关系,并且在合作的过程中衡量成功。

价值。 我们主张通过清楚、持续的沟通实现高度透明。我们主张建立互信的关系,因为诚信永远高于功利。我们相信万事万物(包括产品、流程和人)皆会不断进步,因而需要不断提升期待。同时,我们也相信服务的意义。以上只是我们在工作和生活中力图遵循的价值观的一部分。我们希望这些根本原则不但可以定义我们未来的团队和公司,还将定义我们世界一流的公司组合。

使命。 我们是活跃而坚定的投资者。我们深知,要建立起一家可持续的企业需要流血、流汗、流泪,而且道路往往是曲折的。我们已经做好准备跟每个合作伙伴一起撸起袖子、共同奋进,因为我们享受一起开疆辟土的旅程。在这个资本充足的世界中,我们为合作伙伴给予的支持是我们卓然不群的资本——我们帮助管理团队做出关键的战略性和运营决策,并为公司提供全球网络和资源,以及我们在人力资本领域的知识。当然,我们也打算尽情享受合作的过程。

合作伙伴关系。 我们是活跃而坚定的投资者。我们深知,要建立起一家可持续的企业需要流血、流汗、流泪,而且道路往往是曲折的。我们已经做好准备跟每个合作伙伴一起撸起袖子、共同奋进,因为我们享受一起开疆辟土的旅程。在这个资本充足的世界中,我们为合作伙伴给予的支持是我们卓然不群的资本——我们帮助管理团队做出关键的战略性和运营决策,并为公司提供全球网络和资源,以及我们在人力资本领域的知识。当然,我们也打算尽情享受合作的过程。

成功。 每一家投资公司都以对投资人的回报作为衡量标准。但是,我们还有其他的成功衡量标准,即我们是否在自己的公司和投资公司中建立起了高质量的团队,我们对所有学习者的学习成果带来了怎样的改变和提升,我们为变革人力资本的未来播下了哪些技术的种子。我们相信,我们的投资回报将与我们雇佣和指导的人才直接相关。在此基础上,由积极的学习成果转化而来的充满意义的职业生涯,将使我们的投资回报更加丰厚和可持续;可以为我们未来的学习和工作方式创造全新可能的创新性技术,也将进一步放大这一回报。

不论你之前是否认识我们,是否与我们共事过,我们都希望你可以在与我们的合作中切实体验到这些原则和追求。如果你对我们感兴趣而且与我们信念一致,我们非常乐意与你当面详谈。让我们一起打破现状,共创未来。

What does it take to Exceed?

We are a team of investors, operators and company builders who are eager to surpass the status quo. We are committed to pushing the boundaries of human capital and expanding the limits of human potential, globally.

Our investment parameters transcend revenue and growth rate, EBITDA and margin, market share and TAM. They go beyond product/market fit or any 2x2 matrix.

Even more fundamental to our investment framework are who we work with and what they dream of achieving. We are looking to build a team and portfolio of companies with people who share our values, align with our mission, embrace our partnership, and measure success as we do.

Values. We believe in radical transparency through clear and constant communication. We believe in trust-based relationships because integrity transcends material gains. We believe in continuous improvement in all things — products, processes, people — and in constantly raising expectations. And we believe in the meaning of service. These are just some of the values that we strive to work by and to live by. We hope that these foundational principles will not only define our team and our firm going forward but our portfolio of world-class companies as well.

Mission. To be the leading partner for companies that are transforming and defining the future of human capital, we need to identify entrepreneurs who see the future as one of opportunity and change — who truly want to improve the way we learn, teach, work and grow. We invest in companies that are challenging current assumptions of the limits of human productivity and testing the boundaries of existing technologies. We aspire to back teams who think creatively to answer what is possible, who refuse to accept mediocrity, and who battle complacency at every turn.

Partnership. We are active and committed investors. We know it takes blood, sweat and tears to build a sustainable enterprise, and we know the path is rarely straight. We expect to roll up our sleeves alongside each of our companies, because we enjoy the journey of figuring it out together. In a world of capital abundance, we believe in differentiating ourselves by how we support and strengthen our partners: by the ways we help our management teams think through critical strategic and operational decisions, by the global network and resources we bring to our companies, and by our domain knowledge in the area of human capital. And of course, we plan to have fun along the way.

Success. Every investment firm will be measured by the returns to its own investors. But we also measure our success by the quality of the teams we build, at our firm and across our companies, the outcomes we can generate and improve for all learners, and the technologies we seed to transform the human capital of tomorrow. We believe that investment returns will be directly correlated to the people we hire and mentor, sustained and compounded by positive learning outcomes that translate into meaningful careers, and amplified by innovative technologies that will create new possibilities in how we learn and work in the future.

Whether you’ve known us or worked with us before, we hope these principles and aspirations reflect your experience with us. If we have simply piqued your interest, and you believe what we believe, we’d love to meet you. Let’s create the new status quo together.