啟越投資企业介绍

我们很骄傲地向大家介绍Exceed Capital Partners。作为一家专注于全球人力资本领域的投资公司,我们的使命是为有志于在这一领域建设变革性公司的企业家提供支持,成为他们领先的合作伙伴。

为什么选择人力资本?

我们定义的人力资本囊括了我们所拥有的一切知识、才能、技能、价值和判断力。对人力资本进行投资(包括对各种教育技术和知识服务投资),其实真正的投资对象范围极广——所有帮助我们培养创新能力以及我们为彼此创造价值的能力、所有创造和实现我们人类潜能的事物都是我们的投资对象。这些产品和服务是人类和社会得以繁荣发展的基础。

公司创立背景

一直以来,我对知识、教育和培训领域都十分感兴趣,而且密切关注着其中的进展。将近10年之前,当我还在高盛工作的时候,我便注意到这一领域正在发生着大量的变化。从内容创造到学习形式,技术开始以前所未有的方式渗透到整个学习的价值链中。这个领域中公司形成的速度也开始加快。全球各地的情况皆是如此。这个行业中很多传统的公司遭到颠覆,价值在各个领域之间迅速转移,这在带来混乱和不确定的同时,也催生出了大量机遇。

因此,我在高盛内部联合创建了一个团队,专门关注全球的教育技术和知识服务行业。我们的策略是与这个领域的领先公司建立长期关系,为它们关键的战略性交易提供咨询和融资,并在它们的规模和影响力不断壮大的过程中与它们紧密合作。多年以来,我们不仅有幸能与这个行业中大多数的全球领导者共事,而且也与很多充满活力、快速增长的技术驱动型公司进行了合作。后者创建了为学生、家长、老师、雇主和学校提供服务的全新平台和技术。从北京到迪拜到马里兰州的兰德欧弗,这些公司遍及世界各地。我们为能够与它们合作,为它们的成功出一份力而感到骄傲。

为什么选择现在?

在过去的几年间,虽然服务于人力资本行业的公司在数量和质量上都有了长足的进步,但是全球技术格局也发生了深刻的变化。作为信息时代全新的顶尖科技,人工智能正在重新定义各行各业,并且对人类未来的生产能力提出了质疑。尽管在我们现在的知识经济中,高技能、高学历人才的薪资水平仍在不断提升,并与他们的知识和技能水平成正比,但是,人类在未来经济中将要扮演什么角色却存在着极大的不确定性。

在这样的社会经济学和技术背景下,有一个事实日趋明确:如何解决当前的人力资本挑战——不仅要提升全球社会的知识和技能水平,而且还要提升我们创新和创造的能力——已经成为我们这个时代的决定性议题。正如投资物质资本对公司至关重要一样,我们相信,对人力资本进行投资对广大社会也至关重要,而且这将是实现未来共同繁荣的关键所在。

幸运的是,已经有新一代的企业家和公司在这一挑战面前挺身而出。多年以来,我和我的投资伙伴James亲眼看到越来越多的公司创造出了杰出的产品和服务;它们不但可以帮助个人客户(学生、老师、家长)还可以帮助机构客户(雇主、学区、大学)以更新、更好的方式进行学习、工作和教学。在我们以往的工作中,我们有幸与很多“第一代”的突破性公司紧密合作。我们在Exceed Capital的使命是与下一代的顶尖公司合作,利用我们的资本、网络和行业经验帮助它们在全球范围内获得成长并取得成功。

我们的关注重点是成长期的私人公司(一般处于B轮或之后阶段)。目前,我们正在积极探索的主题包括职场未来、创造新的学习图表和网络,以及将机器学习应用于人类学习。此外,我们也正在积极寻求与合适的平台进行合作——这些平台需要能够以新的方式为机构或个人学习者赋能,或者拥有能够对学习结果产生巨大影响的技术。

希望我们的使命对你有所启发,也希望我们可以共同踏上这段旅程!

Introducing Exceed Capital Partners

We are proud to introduce you to Exceed Capital Partners, an investment firm focused on the human capital sector globally. Our mission is to be the leading partner for ambitious entrepreneurs who are building transformational companies in this sector.

Why Human Capital?

We think of human capital as all of the knowledge, talent, skills, values and judgment that we possess. Investing in human capital, which includes education technology and knowledge services of all kinds, is really investing in everything that builds our capacity to innovate and create value for each other, everything that helps to create and fulfill our human potential. These are the products and services that enable people and societies to thrive.

Some Background

Close to ten years ago, while working at Goldman Sachs, I noticed many changes happening in the knowledge, education and training sectors, a space that I have long been passionate about and followed closely. Technology was beginning to penetrate the overall learning value chain in unprecedented ways, from content creation to learning modalities, and company formation in the sector was beginning to accelerate. This was happening all over the world. Many traditional businesses in the industry were being disrupted and value was migrating rapidly from one area to another, causing dislocation and uncertainty but also a lot of opportunity.

As a result, I co-founded a group at GS to focus on the education technology and knowledge services sector globally. Our strategy was to build long term relationships with the leading companies in the space, advising and financing them in their critical strategic transactions and partnering closely with them as they grew in scale and influence. Over the years, we had the good fortune of working with most of the global leaders in the sector, as well as many dynamic, high growth technology-driven businesses who created new platforms and technologies to serve students, parents, teachers, employers and schools. These companies were based in every region of the world, from Beijing to Dubai to Landover, MD, and we were proud to partner with them and play a role in their success.

Why Now?

Over the last few years, while the number and quality of companies serving the human capital sector has experienced strong growth, the global technology landscape has seen dramatic shifts. Artificial intelligence, the new apex technology of the information age, is redefining every industry and calling into question the productive capacity of human beings in the future. Even as wages for highly skilled and educated workers in our current knowledge economy rise in proportion to their knowledge and skill set, the role of human beings in the future economy is becoming an area of significant uncertainty.

Against this socioeconomic and technological background, it has become increasingly clear that solving this human capital challenge — increasing not only our knowledge and skills as a global community but our capacity for innovation and creativity — is the defining issue of our era. Just as investment in physical capital is important for companies, we believe that investing in human capital is critical for societies at large and will be the key to a collectively prosperous future.

Fortunately, we see a new generation of entrepreneurs and companies rising to meet this challenge. Over the years, my investment partner James and I have seen firsthand more and more companies creating fantastic products and services that help both individual consumers (students, teachers, parents) and institutions (employers, school districts, universities) learn, work and teach in new and better ways. We were privileged to work closely with many of the “first generation” of breakthrough businesses in our prior roles. Our mission at Exceed Capital is to partner with the best of the next generation, applying our capital, network and industry experience, to help them grow and be successful at global scale.

Our focus is on growth stage private companies, typically Series B and beyond. Some of the themes we are actively exploring include the future of work, the creation of new learning graphs and networks, and the application of machine learning to human learning. We also are actively seeking out platforms that empower institutions or individual learners in new ways, or bring technologies that can make a dramatic impact on learning outcomes.

We hope that our mission is inspiring to you, and that we get to partner with you in this journey!