宣布我们对Watermark的投资

今天,高等教育正面临一个转折点。我们需要对其进行重新考量,让学生能够更充分地应对未来的需求。在历史上的大部分时间内,学生都是从高校和大学中获取雇主所需的基本知识、才能和技能,进而获得工作,并在我们这个瞬息万变的全球社会中站稳脚跟。但是今天,对学位的价值表示质疑已经成为常态。不断攀升的教育成本和良莠不齐的学生成果对高等教育的投资回报率打上了一个问号。

在这个背景下,有清晰的迹象表明,那些有意愿并且有能力尝试、适应和颠覆的机构将会迎来复兴。为了迎接和抓住高等教育带来的挑战和机遇,我们相信,教育机构需要借助手头的数据和工具获取更多深入的见解,并在此基础上衡量、评估和行动。这并非易事,但是我们相信,技术可以在其中起到关键性的作用——它可以帮助我们在多个维度上理解学生在课堂内外的成功,进而培养出高技能、高生产力的劳动力。

我们最近的一笔投资正是为了迎接今天的挑战、把握明天的机遇。目前美国有2000万高校学生,全球有2亿高校学生,因此,我们投资的潜在影响不可限量。

我们很高兴地宣布,我们已经对服务于全球1000多家高等教育机构的技术公司 Watermark进行了投资。Watermark是一个教育智能系统。它能够连接各所高校和大学的信息,并深入了解学生的学习状况。有了数据的支撑后,各机构可以提升教育项目质量、评估机构有效性,并简化鉴定评审程序。同时,我们也很高兴可以与公司的管理团队TCV和Quad Partners进行合作。我们与该团队的高管和投资者已经相识、共事多年,对他们十分尊重。

Watermark的总部设在纽约,办公室遍及美国和印度。它的使命是让全球各地的管理者、教育者和学习者获得更好的数据,从而有能力建立信息之间的联系、更深入地理解学习,进而获得长足进展。这一使命与我们核心理念不谋而合,即高等教育学习必须反映雇主和广大社区不断变化的需求。我们对Watermark进行投资,就是对人力资本的未来进行投资。

跟其服务的机构一样,Watermark也正处在一个转折点上——它正蓄势待发,即将打造出更多颠覆我们学习、教学、工作和成长方式的技术。

如果你致力于投身高等教育行业、想要提升你所在机构的学习结果,或者希望与Watermark合作,共同完成这一使命,那么欢迎前往www.watermarkinsights.com 与他们联系。

Announcing Our Investment in Watermark

Today, higher education is facing an inflection point, a time to reassess and better equip students for the needs of tomorrow. For most of history, colleges and universities have provided the foundational knowledge, talents and skills required by employers to gain entry into the workforce and to thrive in this ever-changing, global society of ours. Yet today, the norm is to question the value of a degree. Ever rising costs coupled with uneven student outcomes call into question the return on investment of higher education.

Against this backdrop, we see clear signs that point to a renaissance for those institutions that are willing and able to experiment, adapt and imagine again. To rise to the challenge and seize the opportunity facing higher education, we believe institutions need more insights from the data and tools at their disposal — to measure, assess, and act. This is not a simple task but we believe technology can play a critical role to make sense of the many dimensions of student success — in and out of the classroom — in order to drive learning outcomes, improve student retention, and prepare a skilled and productive workforce.

Our latest investment is about the challenges of today and the opportunities of tomorrow. With over 20 million students in higher education in the United States and over 200 million globally, the potential for impact is enormous.

We are excited to announce our investment in Watermark, a technology company that serves over 1,000 higher education institutions worldwide. Watermark is an educational intelligence system that helps colleges and universities connect information across the institution and gain meaningful insights into student learning. Equipped with this data, they can improve the quality of educational programs, assess institutional effectiveness, and streamline the accreditation process. We are also excited to partner with the company’s management team, TCV and Quad Partners, a group of executives and investors we have known and worked with over the years, and respect highly.

Headquartered in New York City with offices across the US and in India, Watermark’s mission is to put better data into the hands of administrators, educators, and learners everywhere in order to empower them to connect information and gain insights into learning which will drive meaningful improvements. This mission resonates with our core belief that learning in higher education must mirror the changing needs of employers and communities at large. By investing in Watermark, we are investing in the future of human capital.

Much like the institutions that Watermark serves, the company is also at an inflection point — poised to continue building technologies that transform how we learn, teach, work and grow.

If you’re passionate about higher education, interested in driving learning outcomes at your institution, or looking to partner on this mission, we encourage you to visit www.watermarkinsights.com and start a conversation.