宣布我们对Trilogy的投资

“在未来,人才将取代资本成为生产的关键因素。”
——世界经济论坛执行主席 克劳斯•施瓦布(Wlaus Schwab)

日渐扩大的技能差距正在阻碍现代经济增长,本质上看,技能差距存在的原因正是由于技术更新换代的速度快于劳动力吸收新技能的速度。

这也不是新鲜事了,实际上,在大部分近代史中,教育和科技一直都在先后竞争。

当教育领先时,也就是当社会和学校对教育大力投资取得的成果可以满足科技进步催生的需求时,工作岗位便得以填补,经济也繁荣发展。事实上,过去75年来美国的许多创新成果和生产力均可归功于20世纪对教育和人力资本的大力投资。

然而,当技术发展领先于教育能力时,不仅经济发展受阻,社会不平等现象也会加剧,因为高薪高技能要求的岗位只能由越来越少部分人胜任。

今天,我们很高兴宣布我们将投资 Trilogy Education。Trilogy是提升劳动力技能的教育机构,与顶尖大学合作,开办满足市场需求的各种项目,以弥补数字化技能差距。Trilogy的课程涵盖编程、网络安全、UI/UX等,致力于培养成年学员习得当代技术经济下最相关、最抢手的技能。Exceed Capital很荣幸能够与Highland Capital和Macquarie共同作为领投方, 与现有投资者Rethink Impact,City Light Capital和Triumph Capital LLC携手合作。

有的学员或许正考虑转行,有的或许需要紧跟日新月异的科技发展水平。Trilogy与合作大学及地区雇主紧密合作,确保课程不断更新,以满足当地就业市场的需求。

这种模式使大学能够快速响应不断变化的劳动力市场需求。一旦与Trilogy建立合作,这些大学便能够引进高影响力高质量的课程项目,其速度与规模远强过虽然可行但极其困难的独立开办模式。由此一来,大学也可以扩展其服务学生的能力,通过提供灵活的、非学位型在职、全日制、面授或在线授课项目来实现其使命。

众所周知, 诸如人工智能和机器学习等科技将来会淘汰某些岗位,同时也会创造就业机会。据估计,目前高达 47%的工作岗位或被自动化或人工智能取代,但我们仍不清楚这些科技同时也会创造出哪些岗位。

当前,许多雇主已经无法找到具有数字化技能的人才来上岗,那么未来的劳动力是否能够习得这些所需技能来满足岗位需求呢?教育机构又该如何提高能力和灵活性来应对这瞬息万变的就业环境呢?我们该如何缩短就业发展和劳动力培养之间的滞后期呢,尤其是在这个知识半衰期日渐缩短的年代?

这些问题的紧迫性正证明了Trilogy这类公司的重要性。

Trilogy整个团队及他们在短时间内达到的规模都令我们感到震撼,在Trilogy打算将业务扩展至全球之际,我们非常兴奋能够与Trilogy合作,见证下一阶段的增长。

从社会角度来看,我们需要通过加大对新技能培训的关注和承诺来应对日渐增大的技能差距来带的挑战,在教育体系与科技发展的竞速中,Trilogy极大推动了教育的发展。

Announcing Our Investment in Trilogy

“In the future, talent, not capital, will be the critical factor of production.”
-Klaus Schwab, Executive Chairman, World Economic Forum

Much has been made of the growing skills gap that is undermining growth in our modern economy. At its core, the skills gap exists because technology is changing faster than our workforce’s ability to acquire new skills.

This is not a new phenomenon. In fact, for much of modern history, education and technology have been in a race.

When education is ahead — when societies and schools invest in educational gains that can meet the demand driven by technological progress — jobs can be filled and the economy prospers and grows. Indeed, much of American innovation and productivity over the past 75 years can be attributed to the significant education and human capital investments made in the 20th century.

However, when technology outpaces educational capacity, not only is economic growth stunted, societal inequality also grows as higher paying, higher skilled jobs go to fewer and fewer workers.

Today, we are excited to announce our investment in Trilogy Education. Trilogy is a workforce accelerator that partners with leading universities to create market-driven programs that bridge the digital skills gap. From coding to cyber security to UI/UX, Trilogy’s programs train adult learners in the most relevant, high demand skills in the tech economy. Exceed Capital is proud to partner with Highland Capital and Macquarie in leading the round, with participation from existing investors Rethink Impact, City Light Capital, and Triumph Capital LLC.

Students may be career-switchers looking to enter a new field, or workers who need to keep pace with the most recent developments in a fast moving area of technology. Trilogy works closely with its university partners and regional employers to make sure the curriculum is constantly updated and responsive to the requirements of local job markets.

This model enables universities to respond quickly to changing labor market demands. Once a partnership with Trilogy has been established, a university can introduce high-impact, high-quality programs at a speed and scale that would be difficult if not impossible on a standalone basis. This helps the university achieve its mission by dramatically expanding its capacity to serve students — with flexible, non-degree programs that can be delivered either part-time or full time, in-person or online.

We all know that, in the future, technologies such as AI and Machine Learning will both destroy and create jobs. While estimates suggest that up to 47% of all current jobs are subject to replacement by automation and AI, we do not yet know what kinds of new jobs these technologies will create.

In a world where employers today are already unable to fill roles that require digital skills, will the workforce of tomorrow be able to acquire the skills required to fill those new jobs? How will our educational institutions gain the capacity and agility required to prepare for an ever-changing work environment? How do we reduce the lag time between the development of jobs and the preparation of our workforce — particularly in an era where the half-life of knowledge is shortening every day?

The urgency of these questions is why companies like Trilogy are so important.

We have been tremendously impressed by the entire Trilogy team and the meaningful scale they’ve achieved in a short period of time. We couldn’t be more excited to partner with them in their next stage of growth, particularly as they expand Trilogy globally.

As a society, we need to rise to the challenge of the widening skills gap by increasing our focus on and commitment to new skills training. Trilogy gives our education system a tremendous boost in its race with technology.